Sudden Death of Peter J. Marshall

  

STATEMENT ON THE DEATH OF THE REVEREND PETER J. MARSHALL

 
The following statement was issued yesterday by the children of the Reverend Peter J. Marshall, author and founder of Peter Marshall Ministries.
 
It is with enormous sadness that we announce the sudden death of our father, the Reverend Peter J. Marshall, on Wednesday evening in Orleans, Massachusetts. He was 70 years old.
 
Born on January 21, 1940, Peter John Marshall was the son of the Scottish minister, Dr. Peter Marshall, who became pastor of the New York Avenue Presbyterian Church in Washington, DC, in 1937 and was appointed twice as Chaplain of the U.S. Senate, serving from January 1947 until his sudden death at the age of 46.

Dad’s mother, Catherine Marshall, wrote the best-selling biography of her husband entitled A Man Called Peter. This book was later made into an Oscar-nominated film of the same title (1955) in which dad was portrayed as a young child by the actor Billy Chapin. Our grandmother went on to write over 20 books, including many editions of her husband’s sermons, several inspirational books, and the best-selling novel Christy.

A graduate of Mount Hermon School in Northfield, MA, our father attended Yale University where he sang in the Yale Glee Club and earned a bachelor’s degree in history. He then entered Princeton Theological Seminary from which he was graduated in 1965 and ordained as a minister of the Presbyterian Church, USA. For the next twelve years, he served pastorates in West Hartford, CT, and East Dennis, MA. Since 1977, he had devoted himself to a nationwide ministry of preaching, teaching and writing. He co-authored three best-selling books-The Light and The Glory, From Sea to Shining Sea, and Sounding Forth the Trumpet.
 
Rev. Marshall is survived by his children, Mary Elizabeth Marshall, Peter Jonathan Marshall, and David Christopher Marshall, two step-brothers, Chester LeSourd of Chattanooga, TN, and Jeffrey LeSourd of Lincoln, VA, a step-sister, Linda LeSourd Lader of Washington, DC, and Charleston, SC, and three grandchildren.  Our mother, Edith Marshall Roberts, also survives.
 
The Rite of Christian Burial will take place on Monday, September 13, at 10:00 a.m. at the Church of the Transfiguration, 5 Bay View Drive, Rock Harbor, in Orleans, MA. Interment follows in the Orleans Cemetery.

15 Responses to Sudden Death of Peter J. Marshall

  1. Patrick says:

    May the Lord’s anointing continue on Peter John Marshall’s ministry through those who faithfully take up the cause of calling America back to her heritage and Faith – In God We Trust.

  2. Brad says:

    It sounds like he was a great man. Shameful how our society doesn’t recognize great men such as this who try to “make a difference” spiritually. But then again, our society today doesn’t care about people who “make a difference” spiritually.

  3. LuAnn says:

    Dr. Peter J. Marshall was at my church back in July. I so enjoyed hearing his message and talking wtih him. Our loss is heaven’s gain. God bless his family.

  4. Dear Jeff & Cindy,
    I searched for your contact email but couldn’t find one so I am posting here. I constantly check out this Blog for the encouraging and edifying material you post here.But you have not posted anything since early September. I hope everything is okay with you and you have not fallen ill or something. I remember you in my prayers and look forward to your posts. May God bless you and your labours for Him.
    Feel free to delete this post of mine as it has nothing to do with Dr. Peter Marshall.
    P.S. If you could provide a contact email on this site for visitors, that would be a blessing.
    Love
    Mike!

  5. Jeff & Cindy says:

    Mike,

    Thank you for the encouraging words. Our contact information is posted on our companion outreach website — watkinsclan@comcast.net

    This site has been “dormant” for awhile because I haven’t had the time to prepare any new posts. It takes me a long time; I’m not a Ferrari…more like a Model-T. I’ll endeavor to get something new posted today.

    Thank you again for your encouragement and exhortation.

    In His Service,
    Jeff

  6. walterrean salley says:

    Read of Reverend Peter Marshall’s life and conversion, as shared in his mother’s book — Light in My Darkest Night. What a story. He held to his convictions till the end. God bless his memories for all his godly laboring. May his works follow him. And may God bless his family.

  7. Kelly says:

    After having an outpatient surgery today I came home and watched the movie of Peter Marshall, his/(Gods) words spoke and encouraged me. I then looked him up on the internet and found the other ministry with his son. (Wow) What a mighty God we serve. Our family is praying for yours and anxiously awaiting how the legacy of faith carries on.

  8. Ruth says:

    I just heard about Rev. Marshall’s sudden passing. He died with his boots on just like his father did. I am sending you my sympathy. I was a great fan of his mother’s books.

  9. Nancy L.Sparks says:

    To Me I Think the Rev.Dr. Peter Marshall was one of the greatest Men of God of all time.I think its a shame that Peter John & His Ministry Never Seemed to Get out more.. As All my life I heard nothing of Peter John.& I wondererd Where he was & what had happened to him.But, Now all 3 of them can strole all over Heaven together..As Their Morning has Come.Dr.Marshal told Catherine..”I’ll See You, I’ll See You In The Morning” & He Know he was talking about GOD’s MORNING.. Well, God’s Morning has come for them & all 3 are together Once again.

  10. Jaye says:

    I just read Light in My Darkest Night this past week. Was so enlightened. I was saddened by the passing of Peter John. My prayers go out to the family.

  11. TCAmbrosia says:

    RIP
    Glad we had his person for many more years than we did of his late father.
    Losing one we love is hard no matter what their age.
    But knowing the great works he did on his own will be his legacy.
    God Bless you all and know he is with Our Lord.

  12. Julie says:

    I am just researching Catherine Marshall and came upon this notice. May he rest in peace. I have a signed copy of To Live Again which is signed and inscribed by the author. The inscription is the poem: There is an open gate at the end of the road… I am researching to determine if she wrote it. Does any one know?

  13. Helen Gorman Guthrie says:

    Reading again “The Prayers of Peter Marshall.” I have loved him since he spoke at my gradnation in 1949 from Westminster Choir College. Looked up Peter John and was sorry to see he also had passed away. I now grieve my husband’s loss and can envision all walking in that heavenly path as they walk with Our Lord.
    Helen

  14. My church circle group is now reading “Beyond Ourselves,” and I was checking some facts about Catherine Marshall only to discover that her son Peter John has passed away. I read “The Light and the Glory” many years ago and still think of Peter John as being very young! This is a great loss. God bless his children and grandchildren.

  15. Johnd786 says:

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively helpful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute &amp help other users like its helped me. Good job. ddabddbeccdb

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

